Why Wild Foods

IMG_3988

I’ve been drawn to wild foods for a while now but have only just recently really started to take more notice and want to incorporate them into my lifestyle.

A couple of days ago I went on an amazing wild food forage walk organised by my friend Robin, she has just started holding regular classes here in Milton Keynes. She is the Culinary Sage!

I was so inspired I wanted to share with you what I learnt and how easy it is to include these amazing foods into your life.

Its Spring here in the uk and it is one of the best times to take advantage of all the amazing wild foods we have at this time of year. Nature is sooo clever, and it is giving us an abundance of foods to really help us cleanse out the old/sluggish/heavy from the winter/colder months.

Wild and local foods are great because

1. They are much fresher than you will ever get in the supermarket.

2. The nutrients and minerals are abundant

3. We are given by nature what our bodies need for the time of year and the season we   are in.

4. Nature provides for us and it’s free!

5. Foraging for our own foods connects us to nature, relaxes our nervous system, you appreciate the food you eat much more too when you’ve picked it yourself.

6. Eating flowers is fun and so colourful. You can make such pretty salads.

The 3 of my favourite wild foods since learning all about them are

  • Nettles
  • Dandelion
  • Cleavers

Firstly these 3  are so easy to find, I can see most of these on any walk I go on. All you have to do is take a plastic bag with you and pick them as you go. Away from a road is better, because of the pollution, and away from where dogs may wee.. is also ideal.

dandelion

1. Dandelions, The Liver loving herb.

Oh how I love my liver loving, such an important over worked organ. It needs a helping hand! Dandelions help increase bile production and liver detox. A good source of potassium, vitamins C & A, and many more minerals.

You can add them straight to your smoothies, or boil up for a fresh herbal tea.

Cleavers

2. Cleavers, The Lymphatic Lover. 

Yes these are the plants you may remember secretly sticking to peoples backs and running away 😉 as a kid..

The lymph is key at keeping our blood clean and nourished. Our blood is so important for health, we want to keep it as clean as possible. Cleavers help with lymphatic drainage, and with skin conditions. As the blood and the liver is quite key in skin health, as well as hormones. It’s also a great source of iron. So ladies get your cleaver tea on the boil!

stinging nettle

3. Nettles, Mega Mineral’s.

Very high in minerals, extremely high in iron. Which is a mineral many people are deficient in.  Also high in the minerals calcium, magnesium, silicon, sulphur, copper, chromium, zinc, cobalt, potassium and phosphorus. They also support the liver and the female hormonal system. Great for the kidneys too. 

Adding these 3 wild foods into your life I believe will have a great benefit. They are easy to get hold of, and you have fresh, fresh food.

I know that I will be adding them to my smoothies, soups, and making herbal teas with them from now on.

I encourage you to have a go and see how you feel!

*********************************************************************************

“I urge you to never give up on your dreams, to always want the best for yourself, to listen out for your inner voice and make yourself a priority”

Lots of Love & Wellness

xx

If you are interested in Health Coaching just contact me on my website through the consultation page.

Holistic Health Coach at Hooked on Health
Working with Women to reach their ideal weight, awaken their passion and spark for life.

Sarah_20131109_0065
http://www.hookedonhealth.co.uk

  • One-on-one Nutrition & Lifestyle Coaching
  • Healthy living and delicious recipes
  • Detox Retreats,
  • Vibrant living workshops
  • Juice Cleansing
  • Personalised programmes.
  • Getting started on your own Health Goals and Weight loss journey
  • Living a transformational Life
  • Experience magical self empowerment

Contact me at info@hookedonhealth.co.uk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Why Wild Foods

  1. Rachel Baines says:

    Great post! While I LOVE dandelion and nettles tea, I’ve never thought about foraging for them. I live in San Francisco, so it’s probably not going to happen anytime soon, but I appreciate knowing it’s a practical possibility. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

