No Poo Challenge ( Hair Detox)

No Poo? Whaaattt ?

Lol. Yes . Don’t worry , no it’s nothing to do with poo. I sure wouldn’t recommend a no poo challenge in that sense.. Woah nooooo! Keep pooping, at least twice a day! (a whole other post)

This is  a hair detox!

No poo just stands for no shampoo. Shampoo as in, commercial shampoos.

So why a hair detox?

A lot of shampoos out there are full of chemical, silicons and more, that coat our hair, irritate our scalp, and encourages our hair to overproduce oil. Stopping the from balancing out its own natural oil, and the natural oil is what you need for healthy hair, with volume and shine. This detox encourages your hair and scalp to rebalance, using a clarifying and ph balanced wash and rinse.

Reasons I wanted to do this detox :

  • Simplicity
  • I love a challenge and experimentation that I can share with you all
  • I wanted my wavy hair to be wavier..
  • Itchy scalp on and off.
  • Curiosity.
  • Static winter hair

So what did I do ?

I used bicarbonate of soda (baking soda) and apple cider vinegar as my wash and conditioner.

“Shampoo”

I mixed a tbsp of BS with 1 cup of water, used this mixture as a wash, concentrating on my roots. Then rinsed well.

“Conditioner”

I mixed a tbsp of apple cider vinegar with 1 cup of water and used this as the conditioner rinse, applying to the length of my hair, not the roots though. Left on for a minute or two, then rinsed well.

Thats it! Let my hair dry naturally, which I usually do anyway. I avoid heat treating my hair most of the time.

I did this method for the first 3 weeks. I was leaving my washes 4 days between, this really helped me transition quicker, and messy buns saved me on less than great hair days!

Then when I felt my scalp had balanced out and I had read about Chagrin Valley Shampoo bars, which are only made from natural ingredients and essentials oils. I decided to try add this to my hair detox.

I ordered a few sample bars. So 3 weeks into the hair detox, I tried washing with the shampoo bar and following with a apple cider rinse.

WOW!

Here was my hair a few days ago: (washed with Chagrin Valley shampoo bars, soap nuts)

IMG_2936

Much wavier than usual, and feeling and looking nourished. My scalp feels super happy, my hair can last 4 days now without getting greasy

I challenged myself to aim for 30 days of the hair detox! and here I am 20 days in and LOVING it!

It’s sure worth a try…

I have a video which explains in detail my 30 day hair detox :

Enjoy!

Todays Soul Food :

I AM RADIANT FROM THE INSIDE OUT.

Lots  of Love & Wellness

xx

If you are interested in Health Coaching just contact me on my website through the consultation page.

Holistic Health Coach at Hooked on Health
Working with Women to reach their ideal weight, awaken their passion and spark for life.

Sarah_20131109_0065

  • Or if you are interested in getting started on your own Health Goals and Weight  loss journey with a one-on-one consultation contact me at info@hookedonhealth.co.uk
Leave a Reply

