Beautiful Beings – Sammy Gatehouse

Happy Friday Beautiful Souls 🙂

I have a great interview for you today by the lovely Sammy Gatehouse aka Samantha Valentine ! I was blown away by Sammy’s amazing talent the first time I met her, she is the most amazing belly dancer, I remember to this day how amazing it was, she did a fusion/dance style of belly dancing, it was just awesome! I was lucky enough for her to dance on my birthday too 🙂 Thanks Sammy xx

She runs Belly Dancing classes in Milton Keynes and I love that she is following her passion for dance, she is just so good at it and she truly shines when performing.

So without further a do :

sammy g

Where do you live in this wonderful world at the moment ?

I live in Milton Keynes among the trees

What do you do for “work” ?

I work in an office by day but by night I am a dancer in training, I hope to make the transition to make dance my full-time job one day.

Tell us a little about your beautiful unique self :

What are your unique talents & gifts?

I have an uncanny knack of imitating rather well! Sounds, accents or people. And I’m gifted in quite a few artistic areas. I have a passion for anything that involves creating or expressing myself.

What does being healthy mean to you?

To me, being healthy means everything. My abilities as a dancer are greatly affected by keeping my mind, body and soul healthy

What makes you feel alive?

What makes me feel alive, well, definitely the following: performing, epic music and spicy food. Although I wouldn’t recommend doing all three at once!

What breakfast gets you off to a flying start?

It depends on what time of year it is, if it’s in the spring or summer then nothing beats a big green smoothie for breakfast. Right now my body has decided on avocado on rye bread with a tiny sprinkling of truffle salt. It’s pretty damn awesome

What would be your perfect day?

My perfect day would definitely involve a lot of yoga, meditation, delicious food and a huge amount of dancing. It would have to be on a particularly beautiful day too

What’s your top 3 foods that make you feel vibrant?

My top three foods that make me feel vibrant have got to be anything Thai inspired, smoothies/juices and stir fry. Basically anything full of fruit and veg

What’s your favourite nourishing recipe to share with us ?

One of my favourite nourishing recipes for winter, has to be roasted vegetables (roasted in coconut oil) with quinoa. I use whatever vegetables I have to hand, usually sweet potato, red pepper, courgette, mushroom and fresh tomatoes. I also add a few whole cloves of garlic and a fair amount of sliced thai chillies (it’s awesome with a kick). I  roast the veg on a low heat for about 30 minutes and then add some extra tomatoes for the last 10 minutes. For the quinoa I follow the packet instructions but I make sure I cook it in stock for a little extra flavor

What are your top tips for happiness, health & balance?

My top tip for happiness and health has got to be everything in moderation. You should never deny yourself of something if you really desire it, just be sure not to go overboard with it. I hate to sound too cliche but there is such a thing as too much of a good thing, whether it’s eating too much fruit or doing too much exercise and obviously you wouldn’t want to overindulge in the not so healthy things. As for balance, my top tip would have to be honour your body and mind

Do you have a favourite quote or mantra ?

The mantra I use for myself, and it’s one I have to remind myself of daily, is “Everything takes time”. I constantly rush through things or I am impatient to be a year or two down the line of my training to get where I want to be, I forget that everything spectacular takes time.

What message do you want to share ?

The message I want to share is passion, joy and freedom of spirit.

What is the most influential thing have you learnt on this beautiful journey called life so far?

The most influential thing I’ve heard so far is this video, it continues to inspire me and influence me every time I watch it.

Where can we find you? 

Facebook

Samantha Valentine Belly Dance MK

Belly Dance Fusion Classes

Leave a Reply

