Beautiful Beings – Regan Vincenza

regan

Another Beautiful Being and another fantastic Friday ! I am excited to introduce you to the totally cool Regan Vincenza from Ryker Sear. I met Regan about 2 years ago, at the gym! I am always totally inspired when I meet someone who is just totally doing what they love, and Regan is one of those people. I loved that she was living her dream and working hard at it. Here she is :

Where do you live in this wonderful world at the moment?

I live in the quaint village of Wicken near Milton Keynes.

What do you do for “work”?

Make music! I play guitar and sing in a rock band – check out Ryker Sear! I write songs and perform – some people’s’ worst nightmare, but I love it! I’m also writing songs to pitch to other artists.

Tell us a little about your beautiful unique self:

My name is Regan (yes King Lear, and YES The Exorcist) and I have a slight Peter Pan complex. I spent many years at a girls convent school, but thankfully I managed to get into rock n roll! I’ve loved music all my life. I remember sitting in my dad’s guitar case when I was little, listening to him play Cat Stevens and Jethro Tull, and thought it was great to be able to play songs. I like all kinds of music, rock, instrumental, pop, you name it – just has to be pleasing to my ears. I also collect far too many items, cover my walls in posters of stuff I like, and friends. I’m lucky enough to have grown up in the 90s/early 2000s, so I had access to all the music and pop culture of the past. Plus us Millennium generation kids got so much good stuff. Yeah, you’d better be jealous that we had the Ninja Turtles and The Backstreet Boys. And Discmans. And the golden age of Nickelodeon!

What are your unique talents & gifts?

Hmm, unique talents and gifts is a hard one. Not unique to just me, but I can write a catchy chorus or two! Song writing is my gift I suppose. I really think it’s something you have, or you don’t. I also don’t know anyone else who can perform a Disney film medley with as much enthusiasm as me!!

What does being healthy mean to you?

Being healthy for me isn’t only about choosing the ‘right’ foods to eat and drink. It’s also something that’s in your mind…about what you have in your life and around you. Being positive when thinking, the need for adventure, exploration, having fun, staying away from people who cause you trouble, and maintaining good relationships with people you care about. So…less about being a hippy, but rather happy!

What makes you feel alive?

Singing and dancing to songs that make you feel crazy! A classic rock song, or One Direction’s latest hit….whatever! Riding roller coasters and being in love 🙂 Possibly at the same time.

What breakfast gets you off to a flying start?

An expertly cooked classic English Breakfast, with plum tomatoes! And honestly, a good green juice.

What would be your perfect day?

My dream perfect day would be on CocoaBeach in Florida with some friends. We’d wear 50s swimming costumes, listen to some rock ‘n’ roll, eat ice cream & blackberries, I’d play a gig at House Of Blues, and then go on a post show walk with a charming gentleman. That’s a lot to cram into one day though…right?

I also love Bonfire Night and Christmas Eve. Marshmallows, Mulled Wine, Sparklers!

What are your top 3 foods that make you feel vibrant?

  • Blackberries,
  • Tomatoes,
  • Lemons.

What’s your favourite nourishing recipe to share with us?

I can’t remember what it’s called…but it’s super tasty. Based around aubergines. Depending on how many people it’s for, take your aubergine (or more) and make a few slices, so it ‘fans’ out. Inside the fan gaps, put artichokes, sun-dried tomatoes, capers, olives, some fresh garlic, and anchovies (or don’t for total veggies!). You can put a few fresh herbs in too if you like, although these ingredients have a lot of flavour on their own! Then chuck a decent amount of olive oil onto it, and totally cover the dish with tin foil. Bake it in the oven. Been a while since I made it last, but I think about 40 mins should do.

What are your top tips for happiness, health & balance?

You’ve heard it before, but really, do more of what makes you happy! We get busy and forget to have fun and be random. There’s nothing wrong with eating a cheese burger, but don’t forget a fruit salad too! Be kind and polite to people, and always be the bigger person – you’ll get your revenge 😉 Remind yourself and be grateful for what you have. Help someone out who needs it. Life isn’t a race.

Do you have a favourite quote or mantra?

Just be yourself and don’t let anyone make you feel unworthy of something.

What message do you want to share?

Trust YOUR instincts on EVERYTHING. Don’t let someone walk all over you, and stand up for yourself and things you believe in. As long as they are legal!

Brush your teeth for a decent amount of time, love those who love you, and SMILE 😀

What is the most influential thing you have learnt on this beautiful journey called life so far?

Mostly cheesy, overused stuff, which is 100% true. Sometimes it’s hard, but be yourself, trust your instincts, always do the right thing, speak up. Plus the old ”the only thing we have to fear is fear itself”.

Where can we find you?

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Leave a Reply

