Henna – The safe way to dye your hair!

I felt like a change, so decided to dye my hair!

I have been using Henna for a few years now, and experimented with red’s, browns, anything to compliment and condition my normal hair colour.

Here’s my results!

Before:

After:

I love Henna because it is natural, it has no nasty chemicals that commercial hair dyes use, nasty,nasty stuff!

I don’t have control on all the toxins my body takes in, but the one’s I do have control over like this, I make sure that I use a safe product that is safe for my body and my health and wellbeing!

The research conducted on the affects of chemicals in hair dye on humans has revealed some shocking results. There are several scientists and many holistic and natural health care professionals who will attest to the fact they believe the chemicals in hair dye could be the cause of skin allergies, cancer, and possibly other terminal diseases.

The darker colors of hair dye are especially suspect because they contain a much higher concentration of the chemicals required to achieve a darker hair color.

Studies indicate that the chemicals in hair dye could be associated with diseases such as breast cancer, non-Hodgkins lymphoma, Hodgkins disease, multiple myeloma, and leukemia.

A List of Dangerous Chemicals in Hair Dye

If these ingredients are on the box of your hair dye, you are literally putting these chemicals directly into your scalp and blood stream.

  • p-Phenylenediamine (PPD) – the most dangerous of all the chemicals. If you rubbed this into your eyes directly, it could cause permanent blindness.
  • 2-nitro-p-phenylenediamine (another form of PPD)
  • Hydrogen peroxide
  • Ammonia – used in cleaning products (recommended that you use gloves and protect your eyes when using!)
  • Soap and detergents – these are for cleaning, not soaking into the skin
  • 4MMPD or 4-methoxy-m-phenylenediamine
  • 4NNOD sulfate or 4-methoxy-m-phenylenediamine sulfate
  • Formaldehyde (cancer causing carcinogenic)
  • Cocamide DEA – substance that could contain cancer-causing nitrosamines
  • Lead acetate – primarily found in hair dyes that say “remove or cover the tray”

Safer Alternatives to Avoid Chemicals in Hair Dye

Instead of commercial hair dyes, opt for vegetable based hair colors, hair color that doesn’t contain PPD, or henna hair coloring. These are much safer options and will deliver beautiful natural color to your hair without the short-term or long-term harmful side effects

Research has shown that henna and the vegetable based dyes used to colour hair do not have any negative side affects and have rarely (if ever) caused allergic reactions.

I get my Henna from Lush, Not all of their products are 100% natural! I do like their henna though.
This Henna does take a bit of extra time to do, so best to do when you don’t have to rush around anywhere and where you have the day to chill at home. I was studying so i though it was perfect timing. What I love about Henna is that it is an intense conditioner too, leaving your hair in great condition once it is washed out.
After 3 hours…
I’m happy with the results, and the colour usually lasts a couple of months in my hair!
  • Or if you are interested in getting started on your own Health Goals and Weight  loss journey with a one-on-one consultation contact me at juice rehab@hotmail.co.uk
4 thoughts on “Henna – The safe way to dye your hair!

Leave a Reply

