Are you going Nuts..?!

I’ve been meaning to post this blog for a while. After speaking to one of my Juice Customer’s this morning, it spurred me on to write.

I’m going to talk about Nuts! and how in the past Nuts have driven me Nuts!! ūüėČ

Since starting on my health journey and taking out particular foods from my diet and adding in others, I started a love affair with nuts. Cashew, Hazelnuts, Almonds, Pistachio’s, Macadamia, Pecans, Brazil’s.. have I missed any??

Anyways you get the picture, I love them, and at a time they would be my go to snack, my fill up food, added to salads, hanging around in my handbag for munchies’, they were my always something I would eat if I was in a rush, or out and about or just a bit lazy!!

BUT it can’t go on ūüė¶

I have learnt quite a few lesson’s on my path, and read a hell of a lot research and book, and for me my Love affair with nuts just has to end! They are just too hard on my digestion, and if i eat too many I can break out too. ( not in to song or¬†dance but spots!! )

From the research I’ve done and my personal feelings is that health is not just about what you eat but how you digest the food, your digestion is the key to a healthy body!

I’m sorry to say but Nut’s are very hard on the digestion, you can soak them for 12hrs in warm water to make them more digestible (as nuts have an enzyme inhibitor to protect themselves, which makes them less digestible and toxic to our digestive system) but I still wouldn’t eat too many of them.

I think it’s important for people to know when starting a healthy lifestyle and looking for foods to snack on when they feel hungry, that a bag of nuts ¬†(unsoaked)¬†is not the best choice! Yes it is a ¬†better choice than the Chocolate bar, or donut or cake or fizzy drink. ¬†But in the long-term you wouldn’t want to be eating a bag of nuts a day if you want to feel light, energised and with a healthy comfortable digestion, and certainly not mixed with fruit, this combination is lethal, and may give you a serious case of the Toot’s! and a whole lot of bloating ūüėČ

Sugar and fat do not mix well together, and ferment in the gut causing wind!

Fruit should be eaten on its own, preferably in the morning before anything else! I would not recommend for dessert.

Seed’s are slightly easier to digest, but you’d need to soak them too for the best nutritional benefit, so sunflower, pumpkin, poppy, sesame, great on salad’s. You could try replacing your nuts with some seed’s if you are having problems with digestion, like I know many people do.

So what is a good choice of food to snack on??

Well we are all different and require different fuels, so i would experiment with some of the following instead,

  • Carrot & Celery Sticks,
  • Hummus,
  • Avocado
  • Smoothie
  • Vegetable Juice
  • Fresh Wild Fish
  • Eggs

I know for myself when I first went Raw i would live off nuts, and i could tell the difference when i went without them or just had small handful a day, i felt so much better and less sluggish. I know you can get so hungry when first eating lighter that you just want to fill up on something heavier! and Nuts totally do that job, but are not going to leave you feeling great and too much fat is hard on the liver and gallbladder.

For myself personally, I would prefer to have a bowl of quinoa with some steamed veggies, or carrot sticks with hummus than a bag of nuts now.

For people trying to be 100% raw vegan, if they are eating a load of nuts with dried fruits etc.. I believe this to be less beneficial to your health than being a whole foods high raw with cooked grains, steamed veg, occasional egg’s, fish..¬†not living off concoctions of recipes made from nuts 90% of the time. Don’t get me wrong it;s a great transitional food, but you really need to be careful not to eat too many, to soak them first.

Healthier and easily digestible proteins and essential fatty acids can be found in these super food’s:

  • Chia Seed’s.
  • Hemp Seed’s
Chia seed’s are great at filling that gap, mixed with almond milk, to make a cereal this would be a great snack!¬†

I would also recommend for people with digestive problems to try eating light to heavy, starting with juice, fruit, smoothie in the morning, salad for lunch, and a cooked meal with a salad for dinner, such as quinoa with veg, or sweet potato with a salad, fish with veg and a salad, or an omelette with a salad.

Try this for a week and feel the difference.

Writing this post has been a great reminder for me to start watching my nut intake again, and I will be embarking on a No Nut cleanse for a couple of weeks and I will let you know how it’s going and what I’ve been eating.

 

  • Or if you are interested in getting started on your own Health Goals and Weight ¬†loss journey with a one-on-one consultation contact me at¬†juice rehab@hotmail.co.uk
One thought on “Are you going Nuts..?!

Leave a Reply

