Recipe for Happiness.

It may not be your recipe for Happiness but this Lentil stew recipe made my day ! It was heart warming in more ways than one….

It was an evening like this that reminded me of how amazing we all are and the inner wisdom we hold inside of us!

 I had this realisation!  Life is actually easy if we know how.

That happiness is not something that we need to search for. It’s not this pot of gold at the end of a rainbow or a reward we eventually receive after a hard long lesson learnt life.

 Happiness is a feeling we can have right now.  Even when we are  hard at work on ourselves to find a new better us, focusing on self-improvement and peeling off layers of emotional baggage and issues we believe we have…

Happiness is this feeling/this thing that we are all searching for. Many times it is forgotten that it’s actually already here and it had never even left us.

 I myself am guilty like many lost souls of searching for Happiness and thinking how I am not good enough at this moment,how when I’ve improved my skills, my emotions, my career, all will be better and I will find that feeling, that love inside, that perfect life!

 How ever I was reminded today, That “perfect life” is already here and that feeling is already within us, each and every one of us, and that when you stop searching for it, you usually find it.

 I was just finishing my day watching some clips on YouTube, some self-improvement techniques, you know, working on that next part of me that needs work, on my way to becoming a Sarah with no “issues” and plotting my next daily routine to take me closer to the “perfect being” I strive to be, the spiritual being, one with all.

This is how my Lentil stew brought me to a lovely realisation, one I’ve had before many times, but each and every time I have it, it feels like the first.. 😉

 I took a break from my laptop and went downstairs to prepare some dinner for my girlfriend and I for when she got home.

As I’m chopping the celery and carrots to make our healthy hearty lentil stew, I suddenly stop and realize there is this feeling here…. What is it? Ooo it feels good!

This feeling was filling up my whole body, I stop and realize how blissful it is and how it’s “the feeling,” the one that I am searching for and wanting more off.

I’ve felt this before…

I couldn’t explain it straight away, If I had to describe it in words to somebody, I would say I felt tingly inside, buzzing, my body vibrating on the inside, the vibrations around my chest and heart were overwhelming, and I wanted to cry with happiness.

I started thinking, god I must LOVE cooking more than I knew! Lol..

 My whole body was feeling total love, appreciation, and gratitude for just simply LIFE, being alive. Wow. It was like the feeling you get after a massage, or sex or something that takes you out of your head and into your body. Just a sense of wholeness.

 Where did it come from?

 See all I was doing was chopping away thinking how much I love preparing healthy food and how I was excited about my girlfriend coming home and how much I love her and that I love  making things for her and sharing, that I can’t wait to taste the lentil stew when it’s complete… etc, etc.. my mind was in a state of GRATITUDE and positive thoughts.

 I was totally in the zone of doing something I loved.

I had not been searching for it, nor meditating, and still this lovely overwhelming feeling of bliss and love and I guess just “happiness” was there.

 In that moment I realized just how easy it is to feel this amazing feeling of happiness and contentment.

It made me feel even more grateful for how magical this life really is, and for moments like this when you realize just how easy it is to be happy that life finally makes sense!

 As I write this my heart is still so open and loving and just grateful for this beautiful reminder that I have tears of absolute love & appreciation for life.

 Life is not hard, it’s not.  It’s easy when we are reminded how easy it is to be happy in one little moment, I’m so grateful that a simple act of cooking a lentil stew for my girlfriend and I reminded me of that. Really the little small things in life make life!  Don’t search for happiness, as it’s already there, in the little things, the ones we may sometimes overlook or forget, it’s in parts that are there all the time, the ones just waiting for you to remember them or just stop and realize they are there.

Here is the recipe, taken from Alicia Silverstone’s the Kind Diet.

Lentil Stew

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp ground cumin

1/4 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp dried basil

2 tbsp olive oil

2 garlic cloves, finely chopped

2 large onions, cut into chunks

2 celery stalks, diced

1 carrot, sliced

1 potato, i used sweet potato cut into chunks

1/4 cup shoyu or bragg’s amino

5 cups of vegetable broth, I just used filtered water

3 tomatoes, cut into chunks

1 1/2 cups brown lentils

Combine the garlic powder, paprika, salt, cumin, oregano and basil in small bowl. Heat the oil in a large soup pot, add the garlic, onion celery, carrot, and potato. Stir in half the seasoning mixture and the shoyu. Cook, stirring frequently, for approx 7 mins, or until onions are tender.

Add the 5 cups of water, tomatoes and lentils. Bring to the boil over high heat, then reduce and simmer with lid askew for 30 mins. Add the remaining seasoning mixture and cook for 20 minutes longer or until lentils are soft.

Serve and Enjoy!

  • Or if you are interested in getting started on your own Health Goals and Weight  loss journey with a one-on-one consultation contact me at juice rehab@hotmail.co.uk

Leave a Reply

