Second Attempt at Vegan cupcakes

Vegan Cupcakes topped with Raw vegan Frosting.

I haven’t baked cakes in a while, a long while since I eat mostly a high raw vegan diet & make Raw vegan treats as part of my job.

Lately though I just can’t stop myself, I have a new fascination with vegan baked treats!

I’m not sure if it’s because it’s colder outside now and I want something comforting… but I think it’s more about my new love of  the cupcake!

See I don’t like the usual, commercial cupcake, with Milk, Eggs,flour, processed sugar etc… those Cupcakes make me feel icky 😦

However now I can make vegan cupcakes from Gluten Free flour, Agave Syrup, xylitol & Almond Milk

I’ve just received Alicia Silverstone’s The Kind Diet and I played around with one of her recipes for cupcakes, adjusting some of the ingredients so to keep my body happy, as I don’t like Wheat Flour.

Here’s the Vegan cupcakes I made with a Raw Chocolate vegan Frosting.

Recipe:

  • 2/3 cup almond milk
  • 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 2/3 cup agave syrup
  • 1 cup of rice flour
  • 1/3 cup of buckwheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • pinch of sea salt
Preheated the oven to 180c , combine the milk and vinegar in a bowl, add agave and stir.
In a separate bowl combine the flours, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add the wet ingredients to the dry, mixing until no lumps remain.
Pour into muffin tins, and bake for 20 minutes.
Frosting
  • 1 cup of cashews
  • 2 tablespoons of cacao powder
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • pinch sea salt
  • 1/3 cup agave syrup

Blend all ingredients together until smooth. Then spoon into cupcakes for a Yummy Raw Frosting.


Here’s my little naked cupcake out of its little red jacket :

Verdict:

It was squishy and soft, and the topping went really well with the flavour of the cupcake. It got a thumbs up from my girlfriend, we enjoyed them with a mug of Liver Detox tea & Rooibos!

  • Or if you are interested in getting started on your own Health Goals and Weight  loss journey with a one-on-one consultation contact me at juice rehab@hotmail.co.uk
Leave a Reply

